A 70year Old Diary & Memories from My Childhood

I look at myself and i see that i am a chip of the old block in fact we all are (My siblings). As soon as you meet him you’ll just know that our genes are connected.

DSC055230000TL
Dad at 50years
IMG_0672000M
Family Photo- Dad with us and our own families

He taught me some lessons of life:
He taught me honesty:

I remember long time ago as a young child when i stole what was then known as “Kobo…kobo” with an intention to buy sweets, biscuits and chewing gum. I did succeed at this but my old man taught me a lesson i never did forget.
He taught me hard work:
I watched him work tirelessly at home and at work. I remember that that many of his co-workers admired him and he was valuable to his company.

He taught me forgiveness:
Someone did something that hurt me badly and all i wanted to do was to hold unto it for ever. But my old man taught me that it was better to make friends than enemies.

He taught me love:
I saw this in the way he cared for others and even our dogs were showered with love. I remember we would get scolded if our dogs had not been fed as they should be. I use to hate that the dogs got a lot of attention but now i recognize it as love.

He taught me discipline:
Hmmmn…one episode comes to mind. You know kids can be quite mischievous. So i got into something that was not really my business when i should be home after an evening lesson we attended back then. Back then when schools closed at 1-2pm and you get to observe siester and attend evening extra coaching. Well we lived in a face-me-i-face you (community leaving). Many families lived in such accommodations and shared the bathroom, kitchen, tap water or a well. It was easy to get mixed up as a child with the wrong crowd. That evening i meddled into a fight instead of going home and my dad went all the way to the coaching centre thinking that something had happened to me. You don’t want to know what happened when he found out that i was with some other kids at the time i should be home. But i did learned how to obey rules my family had set and began to understand what bad company could do to my future.

DSC05520000F
Grandpa’s Diary entry announcing dad’s birth in 1945

He taught me that school was important especially as a girl:
He would check our school performance at the end of every term and reward us for a job well done. And if you need to work harder at a subject or hadn’t performed as well as is expected, you get a lot of what i call “sermon” on how much your school fees cost. Plus of course a lecture on how you must become a doctor, Lawyer, accountant and so on in the future. Well now i am teaching my kids the same lesson. I am talking about none other than my dad.
Today, 7th August 2015 he turns 70years old. My grandpa entered his birth in his diary the morning he was born in 1945. I got the privilege of seeing that diary today. I am told that it was difficult to get writing materials in those days. It was a luxury and perharps my grandpa was one of the few privileged because he was a King.
I celebrate my old man, my dad and my legacy today. And just maybe i got this passion for writing from my ancestors.
I bless God for sparing his life and giving us the opportunity to celebrate.
Help me celebrate my dad!

6 thoughts on “A 70year Old Diary & Memories from My Childhood

  1. Yes oh.. We celebrate Daddy at 70! God be praised for his wonderful life. And I’m proud to have joined His lineage and for the blessing of 4 lovely Sisters and a second Mum plus all the lovely nieces and nephews! God bless Daddy (Prince ) Adedapo Osiyemi, my father in law of life!!! Live long and keep prospering.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

