A Dream come True

Graduation 1

13years ago when i just got married, a well meaning relative advised i and my husband to put child bearing on hold until we had both gotten our Masters degree. The idea was to position our selves for better career opportunities. This person spoke sincerely from his heart about how having children too early could make it impossible to achieve the dream of getting further education. We discussed our options and decided that we were not going to put having children on hold and believed that somehow we would still be able to achieve our dreams. For a woman its a double wait because that means calculating the nine months of pregnancy and at least two years of nursing that child properly.

At work many of my colleagues seem to be acquiring higher degrees while i struggled on to add my small earning into helping to support my husband in the running of our growing family. Every year I’d remind myself that someday soon I’ll purchase my post graduate form. Then in between this prayer and wish i would wonder where i would get the money to sponsor the course. The husband was already overloaded with family bills.  Finally a N20,000 business came along and i closed my ears to all other needs crying for my attention and purchased a form! That was how i punctured the impossible balloon of furthering my education. It was hard and tough having to combine my job and family with attending lectures/studying. Many nights after sorting out the family dinner and cleaning up, I’ll then settle down to catch up on an assignment and studying. Interestingly the course required me to report for field work at various agencies during its duration.

 

Graduation 3Graduation 2

I really must appreciate my family  who had to bare with me on days i couldn’t cook because i had deadlines to meet and many times “the husband” had to baby sit while mummy dashes of to the school library on weekends. It was a crazy schedule but today i reap the rewards of my hard work. Now i am a certified Social Worker! So i can take on clients and cases…sort of already doing that though. Loads of love to my family, friends and colleagues who supported me and made this possible.

So girl don’t give up on that your dream…its possible!

Adebisi Adetunji

14 thoughts on “A Dream come True

Leave a Reply

