Tribute to my city….An Ancient City

The sky grew grey. Sighs of relief went into the air. The rain came down in torrents. A breath of fresh air after it stopped. In the midst of the good feeling in the atmosphere, a cry rent the air. It was coming from around a corner. An old building, 80years old. It wept profusely. When asked what the matter was, It replied, “my roof remains brown even after the rain. I want to have a brand new roof and I thought the rains will wash me clean”. It’s the ancient city of IBADAN, the largest indigenous city in Africa south of Sahara. IBADAN 2

 

Some say Ibadan city has not changed in its almost 200 years of existence…how wrong…Ibadan city maintains its old structure but new structures are springing up everywhere. Places that once housed bushes have fast become business hubs bubbling with life! IBADAN 1

Photo Credits: Nairaland, thenationonline

Adebisi Adetunji

9 thoughts on “Tribute to my city….An Ancient City

  1. Hello Bisi,

    I really enjoyed reading this.

    Ibadan has a cultural heritage rooted deeply within its soil, one can feel it all around the city.

    I lived there for an year during my NYSC program. I enjoyed the ease and peace compared to the hustle and bustle of Lagos. 😀

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting my blog Nedoux…so you are my Ibadan kindred…Nice! They say Ibadan is cool and not as noisy as Lagos…i say at least we fresh air unlike the congestion i have to deal with when visiting my siblings in Lagos.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Bisi,

    I really enjoyed reading this.

    Ibadan has a cultural heritage rooted deeply within its soil, one can feel it all around the city.

    I lived there for a year during my NYSC program. I enjoyed the ease and peace compared to the hustle and bustle of Lagos. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

