Looking out the Window…Stepping Out

Welcome to a brand new Friday! Here is peep into my work neighborhood. I was looking out the window early this morning trying to drink in some silence and meditate before my colleagues arrived. While admiring the trees on the outside it occurred to me that the window burglary bars hindered a clear view. Neighbourhood pix 2

When i then decided to go outside i had clearer view and it was   beautiful. Neighbourhood pix 1

Isn’t it funny how we can all be looking at the same thing but have different perspective to it depending on the angle each person is viewing it from.

So my thoughts on this flowed into a poem:

The view from the window feels safe
But the other side looks beautiful…inviting
What dangers lurk around the corner outside?
I want to have a better view, but it would mean stepping out
Should i, should i not?

It feels safe inside but i want to see more
I summoned courage and rose to my feet
I took few steps and out the door i walked
It was a beautiful view…clearer and cleaner
I could dance around enjoying the breeze

I began to see the world from a different perspective
I began to discover new things
It ushered in a new kind of freedom
It ushered in new possibilities
A view from the window was my starting point
Happy that i stepped out …so rewarding!

Lesson: Don’t let your life just roll by…step outside your comfort zone and discover great things you could achieve with your life.
You don’t have to have all the answers at the beginning, just step out.

Do have a great Friday!

Adebisi Adetunji (C)

8 thoughts on “Looking out the Window…Stepping Out

  1. Perspective is a strange thing … especially when yours shift with the mid day breeze. Lovely poem, thanks for sharing!

    At the moment I am so out of my comfort zone, I couldn’t make it back in time even if I tried … and I know it’s going to hit and I’m going to fall flat on my face, but till then I’m writing blogs, poems, hatching ideas for software packages, learning Bach’s Prelude 1 in C major by ear, curtousy of mkjellstrand‘s post about pop and oh my word, I’m going to have a bad manic meltdown soon and it’s gona hurt, but untill then, meh … lets have at it …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

