My Volunteer Experiences


This post was inspired by the daily prompt word for today – Volunteer

Birtday groove 5

Most times we think volunteer work is meant to be only recognized when offered in a big organization. I say no that’s not how it works. You can personally volunteer to use your spare time to make a difference in your neighborhood; in the life of some one.

I am volunteering my time to help give psycho social/therapeutic counseling to a person who is struggling with depression. This for me is using my social work skill to help this person get emotional support and balance.

I recently spent  my one month annual leave in helping to plan for the celebration of the elderly in my community. My role included drafting and typing of letters ; sourcing and following up sponsors; sourcing for medical personnel and organizations to give free medical check up; helping with promotional materials etc. Some of my colleagues berated me for wasting my rest time of  the year. I laughed each time I heard this but it was a task I enjoyed doing even though I needed my rest. All I could think of was the difference my efforts will make. And it was a worthwhile venture.

Volunteering is hard work, a sacrifice, and a learning experience. I would do it again and again.

Keep shinning your volunteer light in your little corner. It’s making more difference than you can imagine.

Adebisi Adetunji (C)

6 thoughts on “My Volunteer Experiences

  1. Reblogged this on Inner Ramblings Boulevard: and commented:
    Pondering…
    Have you ever wondered if your existence in this world is making a difference? I’ve had a service related job for the past 17 yrs. I thoroughly enjoy helping others and clients have showed their appreciation which in turn fuels my love of helping.

    Say hello to Adebisi, one of our loyal followers and a participant in my latest quiz. The spotlight now shines on her as I extend my humble appreciation to her for joining in on the fun. Thank you Adebisi! ☺

    In her following post, she shares her latest experience on how she chooses to make a difference in this crazy world. Hop on over to read her story an be sure to show some love. Enjoy! 🌷

    October 22 2016 (Showcase Reblog)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

