Personal Story: What you Stand to Gain from that Extra Work your Boss gives

women-workEight years ago on the corridor my boss handed me a bulky script to work on and produce on the station’s radio drama serial- Tales of life. I took a deep breath, collected the script and wondered how i was going to manage producing it in the midst of my many already scheduled weekly recording.

When I finally settled down to read through the script UFIALA…I was drawn in. It was such a rich story that focused on something I am passionate about. Women and girls.

The story is about a rapist on the loose in a community. Young girls preparing for marriage are afraid to go the village stream alone or anywhere else for that matter. This rapist even raped  married women. One in particular called Chika committed suicide because her in-laws blamed her for the incidence and believed that she had brought a curse on their family. That is where the story begins…

I enjoyed reading through the story but it wasn’t ready and perfect for recording yet. It needed to be rewritten and mechanized to fit into a radio drama. Nobody was going to pay for this!!… I thought to myself but…

When your boss gives you an assignment you better do it.

Now you can decide to do it really well or just do it for the sake of doing it.

Well I decided to give it my best shot. It was a lot of work rewritting and even adding some scenes; auditioning for casts; studio recording and editing. The other thing that was a bit stressful was getting a praise singer for the king’s court. And guess what…It was a story set in an Igbo cultural environment.

You have no idea what this meant to me…I was in Yoruba land, the south west Nigeria. So I contacted my Igbo brother, Emeka Darlyton who got me someone to do it…I can’t remember paying the artist but I did have to give him transportation fee. All these for a story authored by someone I didn’t know from Adam and I wasn’t getting paid for the extra work done.

When the story Ufiala did hit the airwaves it was a great success. It went on to be broadcast on the Network service of Radio Nigeria, Abuja.

And In 2011, I got a phone call telling me that I had just won the award for the best producer of the year, National!! Wao…all due to my production work on the story…Ufiala!

The most rewarding part was that I got to meet the writer of the story, Tokunbo Dada after it had been produced and broadcast. Today we have become a formidable radio drama team. I call him my right hand man and brother. tokunbo

Lessons:

  • Whatever your hands find to do, doit with all your might and heart.
  • Opportunity comes wearing an overall, so dig into the work and enjoy the blessings of your new opportunity.
  • Always go the extra mile because it ends up giving you that extra notice that puts you ahead of your contemporaries.
  • Hard work pays
  • Be willing to work without getting paid sometimes…It is quite rewarding…Benefits of my award – A deep freezer and Cash money.
  • When your boss gives you a new assignment, not palatable…DO IT! *wink*

You can listen to the audio by clicking on the link below

 Ufiala

Adebisi Adetunji (C)

3 thoughts on “Personal Story: What you Stand to Gain from that Extra Work your Boss gives

Leave a Reply

