Dear Diary…My Rage and Embarrassment…TBEE Writes #5

jotterDear Diary, remember where I stopped yesterday. Hun…hun my saga with DT, my boyfriend at the school chapel. Well, this is how it all went down after the service.  I had planned to find an escape route through one of the many entrances and simply disappear in the midst of the rushing worshippers, lecturers and students alike. Unfortunately for me, DT grabbed my hand closest to him and I didn’t want to embarrass myself as we all filed out. “This guy think say him get sense…we’ll see when we get out the door”.

Outside I snatched my hands out of his hold. “Babe, don’t be like that”,  DT pleaded in a quiet baritone voice. No one would suspect what he was capable of. “Please let me pass”,  I said as he stood like a stone wall in front of me. In my thoughts, I screamed, “this guy is bent on embarrassing me all the way”. DT asked if he could drop me off at my hostel and my eyes just did the talking…saying No way!

Frustrated he muttered through his teeth, “I said I was sorry”. Yes, he had apologized over and over again…so much that I had stop counting.

Dear diary, it’s not like I am enjoying being difficult but every time I looked at him I just remember that night. Okay let me explain the crux of our fight. The other night like a week ago now, DT took me out on a date. We went to a pepper soup nice joint. Fresh fish and Isi ewu was our treat after which we planned to dance until we eased off the day’s tension. So here we were at our table for two, DT loves to play the gentle guy with some cash to spoil his babe. He comes from a comfortable home, with a car to himself. Girls like me enjoyed having a “tush” guy with a cool ride on campus. Of course I was the envy of some other girls. He would open the door of his car for me; pull up a chair and made sure that I was seated before sitting down himself at the table.

So here I was feeling so special and loved as my DT took charge of things. I was excited and giggled. One of the waiters came by to ask for our order. Trust me when it comes to food, I am never shy and I don’t pretend. So I asked for “Isi ewu” pepper soup and a cold bottle of Malt drink. peppersoup-goat-meat

DT ordered for fresh fish pepper soup and a bottle of beer.

cat-fish-pepper-soupHe still hasn’t been able to convince me to try drinking beer. I am curious about it and want to but what would my dear clergy father say. He won’t even dream of finding me here. I mean I should be dating a fine Christian boy …well DT goes to church sometimes.

Back to our date matter, we were chatting and flirting at the same time while waiting for the waiter to serve our ordered treats. She came shortly with our steaming hot pepper soups. DT’s treat landed on the table safely but I really can’t say what happened, somehow myisi ewu pepper soup spilled on my lap and mine…it was painfully hot! My skin burned and I felt the sharp pain somewhere in my “Medulla oblongata”.  What happened next left me bewildered. DT slapped the lady across her face and she went sprawling on the floor. “You didn’t have to do that”! I screamed. But DT was uncontrollable; he started kicking her on the floor. By now the whole joint was in up roar. By then I had forgotten that my skin burned as I kept begging DT to stop. Thankfully some hefty guys grabbed him and bundled him out of the place. The poor girl, I kept apologizing while she sat down on the dirty floor crying. I didn’t know which one I felt more, rage or embarrassment.

I refused to ride with him in his car that night. I decided to take an okada to take me straight back to campus. Imagine at midnight! If anything bad had happened to me what would my poor parents who sent to school do? The risks we sometimes take for love, I seriously don’t understand.
So here were at the car park in front of the school chapel with DT trying to explain himself, begging me to please forgive him. I looked at him in the eye and thought to myself, “if he could treat a stranger like that what about me? Dear diary did he really loved me that much that he couldn’t stand me suffering? Should I forgive him? He seemed sober…hmmm I am caught in between my feelings and my rage towards him.

Credits: Nigerian Foods

Glossary:

Isi ewu – Goat Head sliced to make pepper soup

This guy think say him get sense – Guy trying play smart

Medulla Oblongata -Part of the brain that joins the spinal  cord and controlls involuntary actions.

Tush – Slang for being trendy and stylish

Okada -A motorcycle taxi in Nigeria

Adebisi Adetunji(C)

4 thoughts on “Dear Diary…My Rage and Embarrassment…TBEE Writes #5

Leave a Reply

