GUEST INTERVIEW: Banker Turn to An Orphanage Home Worker

Mrs. Oluwatosin Adesakin is someone I met at an orphanage home where we went on a follow-up visit concerning one of the children housed there. While chatting with her I found out that she hadn’t always been working at the orphanage home. I was curious to know her story as she is young and looked like someone who should be out there pursuing a corporate career. Gladly she obliged me but she declined to take photos. So I’ll just share a poster of the home.

img_20170215_101514

Her story and that of the children she cares for touched me and I’d like to share it with you:

What Course did you study?
Oluwatosin: I studied Computer Science at Lead City University Ibadan

Work Experience
Oluwatosin: I worked with a Microfinance bank for two years then I resigned and started to work with He Careth Orphanage Home, where I had been offering my part time services. I became the Manager of the home.

It looks like you left a more lucrative job for a social services work which isn’t paying as much as you earned before. What inspired you?
Oluwatosin: The Orphanage home was started by my mother, Evangelist Kikelomo Ali. On my free days I help out at the home caring for children but soon we noticed that those hires to care for the children were not giving adequate attention to the children. They beat the children and even steal items donated by well-meaning individuals to the orphanage home. After a while, I decided to make myself available to ensure that these children are been properly cared for as I really love children.

Would you like to share a bit of your experience working as manager in this orphanage home
Oluwatosin: Taking care of children is quite challenging. We feed them, dress them up, take them to the clinic when they fall ill and also take the older ones to school every day. It requires one’s full attention.

What has made working here at the orphanage home worth all the trouble?
Oluwatosin: We get children with different background stories. Some are brought in because their mothers died at birth; others were picked in the street or taken from mothers who suffer mental illness etc.
Some of these babies are brought in here looking emaciated and sick. We work so hard to care for them and watch them blossom into healthy and happy children. This is very rewarding for me and I am happy to do it over and over again.

Case in Point:

Victoria was a baby brought in looking skinny with her bones all showing. She looked like a skeleton. Her mother was a prostitute who had her and wanted to throw Victoria into a pit latrine (toilet). Thank God she was caught before she could carry out this unthinkable act. We nursed and cared for her, praying hard that Victoria would survive. She did and today she is a big, robust and healthy baby.

David is another baby who when he came to the orphanage couldn’t walk or sit until he was 2 years. His growth had been stunted. We feed him, took him to the doctors and did all we could to help him. We also prayed hard for him and today he is able to walk, talk, sit and do everything a child should do.
These success stories keep me going on the tough days.

Personal Lesson
Oluwatosin: Working here and with the children has taught me how to be more patient.

How is this home funded
Oluwatosin: People donate money; give material things, food stuff, beverages and so on. Mostly my mother put in her own money to keep the home going.

He Careth Orphanage Home is located at N0 47 Ajagboju, General Gas, Akobo Ibadan.

Support a Child

If you wish to support or donate to this orphanage home you can reach them on +2348033858451, +2348072802227 Or simply send your cash donations to:

Field Mission Evangelical Ministeries

Wema Bank – 0120431403
I hope to do more personally. Little drops of water can make a whole lot of difference. Give a child hope today. Thank You.

Adebisi Adetunji (C)

Leave a Reply

