Celebrating a Woman: Yinka Bode – Are (A photo Journalist)

Photojournalism is an art which takes time to build. They tell stories of real people, real life situations. A picture always tells the story better than words and you never forget it. Your mind’s eye captures the message. A photo-journalist can stir up action more quickly than many words of appeal will do.

I met this fantastic woman wearing a plain wine shirt on a simple trouser at a journalist training workshop(Writing Feature Stories on Family Planning) facilitated by DEVCOMS/NURHI. She looked all ready for work and moved smartly while walking alongside her. When we introduced ourselves I got to know that she is a photojournalist. I was fascinated and very soon she showed her skills clicking away with her camera taking different angles in an attempt to capture our own workshop story.

I simply could not pass up the opportunity to know a little more about this fellow woman journalist. So here are a few things I came away with from my chat with her.

Meet Yinka Bode-Are a photojournalist with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

Yinka has been practicing for over 25 years now. 

What she finds interesting about her job: Working in what is considered a men’s terrain as a photo-journalist

Challenges on the job: Yinka sees no challenge too big to surmount. In her words, “I love what I do”.

Do male photo- journalist have any issues with you : The people I meet really appreciate me for what I do. Sometimes I hear people say that I do a better job with my photos than my male counterpart.

Married? Yes I am happily married

How do you manage your family life & work: My family understands what my job entails. In this profession, I don’t have public holidays and I work sometimes 12hrs a day.

Kudos to this hard working woman.

You can live your dream; You can be anything…The world is waiting for you!! At least I am *wink*😀😀

Adebisi Adetunji (C)

2 thoughts on “Celebrating a Woman: Yinka Bode – Are (A photo Journalist)

Leave a Reply

